Kimberly’s Introduction

My name is Kimberly L. Carter and I am in the Master’s of Divinity program at Regent University. I will graduate from the program this year in May. I have enjoyed the program more than I had anticipated and am considering continuing my education, if financially possible.

My husband (with me in the picture) and I are originally from Birmingham, AL. Paul and I have been married for six and a half years. We sold our house and moved to Maryland in 2015 for a job offer that my husband accepted with a small company in Baltimore. It has been one of the best decisions that we have made as a married couple. It has not been an easy journey, but it has been rewarding for Paul and I both individually and as a couple. We both have family back home in Alabama that we miss.

I am excited about taking Multiplatform Writing, but I am also intimidated by it. I am taking this course because I feel that technology’s reach has influenced every field will continue to do so. As someone in ministry, seeking the lost for Christ, I need to be willing to seek the lost through various social media outlets. In order to do this, I must understand the nature of writing to an audience across these various platforms. Further shaping my idea concerning the need to become skilled in this area was taking the Cyber Theology course last semester. Understanding  that God is everywhere, including cyber space, should cause the church(myself included) to rethink its approach in the twenty-first century. If the church is not willing to rethink approaches to reaching the lost through social media and internet outlets, we will miss “the ripe harvest”. The church, by not restructuring to include a “cyber theology” also risks becoming antiquated and extinct.

My personal hobbies include writing, reading, and shopping. I love people, but I also equally love time alone to reflect. I am interested in learning how to re-finish furniture. Perhaps I will purse this as a hobby in the near future. I also love to travel and would love to be able to travel more in the near future.

Leave a Reply

